Racing Rules of Sailing
2022 Update

Charles “Butch” Ulmer

Presented by the Protest and the Yachting Committees



Score Sheet

Q# |[A-Yes|B-No|C-Other Q# |A-Yes|B-No|C-Other
1 19
2 20
3 21
4 22
5 23
6 24
7 25
8 26
9 27
10 28
11 29
12 30
13 31
14 32
15 33
16 34
17 35
18 36

Print out this
slide, record your
answers, and bring
this page with you
to the actual
presentation and
see how well you
know your rules.



1. When do the rules of Part 2 “When Boats
Meet” begin to apply?

A. In or near the racing area
B. At the Warning Signal
C. At the Preparatory Signal

D. At the Starting Signal



2. When do boats start “racing”?
A. At the Warning Signal
B. At the Preparatory Signal

C. At the Starting Signal



3. Is Green entitled to room at the obstruction?



4. \What tack is Green a Position A? B? C?



5. Two boats, Red and Green are sailing close-hauled
on port tack as shown. Red tacks to starboard. Just
as she reaches her close-hauled course, Green sees
her and bears off sharply, but touches Red’s stern.
No damage occurred. Which boat should take a
penalty? Why?

A. Red

B. Green



6. At three minutes before the start, i1s Red entitled to
room at the race committee boat.

A. Yes
B. No



7. Immediately after the start of a race, the race committee
signals a General Recall. While returning to the starting
area, a port tack boat’s boom touches the rig of a boat on
starboard tack. What is her penalty?



8. This Is the position of Green and Red at the starting signal.
Does Green have to bear off to give Red room start?

A. Yes
B. No
C. Itdepends



9. Red and Green are sailing a close-hauled course to
start. Red is moving faster than Green.

At Position 1, does Green have to respond to Red’s hail?
A. Yes
B. No



10. At position 2, the starting signal has not sounded,
can Red luff green?

A. Yes

B. No



11. At position 3, the starting signal has sounded, can
Red luff green?

A. Yes

B. No



12. At the start of a race with Flag | flying, both Red and
Green were hailed by the RC for being OCS. They bore
off and gybed to sail back around the pin. They are
overlapped as shown. Is Green entitled to mark-room?

A. Yes
B. No



13. Is Green entitled to room to tack?
14. Does Green break a rule by hailing for room to tack?

Answer yes or no to each question.



15. The Sailing Instructions for a race say, “All marks shall
be left to port.” The Race Committee shortens the
course at the leeward mark and positions the committee

boat to the left of the mark. Which course should be
sailed to finish?



16. Green is approaching a leeward gate. The race committee has
signaled a shortened course from an official boat by flying Flag S

and making two sound signals. The finish line is:

A. The staff flying Flag S on the official boat and the
closest gate mark?

B. Between both
gate marks?



17. Has Red Finished?

A. Yes

B. No



18. If Red touches the committee boat, has she broken a rule
that she can be penalized for?

A. Yes

B. No



O w

19. Green fouled Red just as she was crossing the finish
line. Green decides to take a penalty, she should:

Clear the line to windward, take penalty turns to windward, recross to
the course side then finish.

Return to the course side, take penalty turns and refinish.
Either



20. In light air with a foul current, Yellow just battles to
cross the middle of the finish line. Right after getting
the horn for finishing, she turns on her engine and
motors the rest of the way across the finish line. Has
Yellow broken a rule?

A. Yes

B. No



21. A close-hauled boat is approaching a windward mark.
It is approximately one boatlength to leeward of the
layline. The boat is going fast enough to shoot head-
to-wind and sail around the mark, while leaving it on
the required side. Is the boat “Fetching” the mark?

A. Yes
B. No



22. Red fouled Green at the windward mark. She also
hit the mark as she rounded it. If Red decides to

take a penalty, her penalty is?

A. 1 turn penalty
B. 2 turn penalty
C. 3turn penalty



23. Red and Green entered the Zone of the gybe mark
with Red overlapped outside. Does Green have to
gybe at the mark?

A. Yes

B. No



24. At a windward mark, where the next leg is a run, Green, entered
the zone clear ahead of Red. Green did a wide rounding of the
mark and then decided to gybe onto port tack. Red had been sailing
a course slightly to windward of Green’s while approaching the
mark and she rounded the mark close aboard and bore off on
starboard tack. When Green gybed onto port, she found herself
crossing the bow of a starboard tack boat. Is Green entitled to room
to gybe?

A. Yes

B. No



25. Green rounded the windward mark to starboard as
required and bore off onto the course for the next mark.
Red, still sailing to the windward mark, sails beyond
the starboard layline and hails Green to come up. Is
Red within her rights in making Green luff?

A. Yes

B. No



26. Is Red In the zone?
A. Yes
B. No



27. This mark is to be rounded to port. Is Red entitled
to mark-room?



28. Which boat is in the zone?

A. Red

B. Green
C. Both
D. Neither



29. Red entered the Zone clear ahead of Green. The boats
were never overlapped. The next leg is a beat. Is Red
entitled to room to tack in front of Green?

A. Yes
B. No



30. Green completed her tack 2.5 boatlengths from the
windward mark. Red was one boatlength behind
Green at this time, but was sailing faster and
became overlapped to leeward of Green 1.5
boatlengths from the mark and hailed for Mark-Room.

Is Red entitled to Mark-Room?









31. Can Red sail above her proper course and luff Green?
A. Yes
B. No
C. It Depends



32. Can Green sail below her proper course to try to stay
ahead of Red?

A. Yes

B. No



33. Green, a boat with a symmetrical spinnaker on a
pole, is sailing her proper course on a run. Red, a
sprit boat with an asymmetrical spinnaker, is
sailing her proper course and has caught up to and
Is overlapped with Green.

Can Red continue on her course and make Green luff?

A. Yes
B. No



34. Red and Green on port tack are approaching Yellow, a
starboard tack boat. Green hails for room to tack, but
after Red tacks, Green decides to duck Yellow.

Has Green broken a rule?

A. Yes

B. No



35. Is C overlapped with A?



36. Green became overlapped between Red and the
shoreline as shown in the diagram and immediately
hailed for room. Is Green entitled to room?

A. Yes

B. No
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